4 Piece Tier 8, pt. 1.5, aka Update!   1 comment

After being fairly disappointed about not being able to pull the data regarding the extra heal out of my WWS parse from last night, I did a little more digging about what other people had to say about this set bonus.  I have uncovered the following information below!

  • The first thing I uncovered is why the set bonus was not being picked up in my WWS parse.  Let me start by stating that, to date, WWS has had fairly poor support for Ulduar, which is somewhat disappointing.  However, in the combat logs the extra heal from the set bonus is being recorded as an unranked Rejuvenation.  So, when WWS parses the information, it is just throwing the set bonus heal in with all of my rejuvenation heals.  This means that currently you are unable to distinguish the set bonus via a normal parse of WWS.  (does anyone know if there is a way for me to ask WWS to distinguish this, via a manual command of some sort?)
    • Side Note:  Apparently WoW Meter Online (WMO) is distinguishing between your ranked Rejuv and the unranked one being cast by the set bonus.  From those running WMO, the reports are that the set bonus is accounting for 8-10% of their overall healing.  Not too shabby!
  • I originally posted that the set bonus was a flat figure based from your base healing, which is what my early, but very limited, test indicated to me.  I was wrong.  The set bonus DOES scale with your bonus spell power, which would be why I was seeing variance in my numbers last night as my MDF ebbed and waned.  There are also a number of other people testing exactly how this proc works, and posting their results, over at EJ.
  • Currently the proc is not benefiting from Genesis, Improved Rejuvenation or Gift of Nature. 
  • Currently the proc cannot crit.
  • Currently, the proc is benefitting from Empowered Rejuvenation, Master Shapeshifter and Tree of Life.

There is no word yet as to if this lower tick from the set bonus is a bug, or “working as intended”.  Either way, there isn’t too much to complain about, in my opinion.  It is still a free extra heal to your target.  It still increases and improves your ability to heal your target.  If I had to wage a bet, I would say that it is “working as intended”.  They can’t make the bonus so powerful that you will never want to switch away from 4 piece tier 8.

I’m curious to hear anyone else’s experiences or thoughts on this!  What do you all think?

Posted May 15, 2009 by Beruthiel in Uncategorized

One response to “4 Piece Tier 8, pt. 1.5, aka Update!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Transitioning to 4 Piece, Tier 8 part II (or, the results!) « Falling Leaves and Wings

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

