Quality Assurance   3 comments

I am generally not one to rant about Blizzard’s errors.  I am generally fairly understanding when it comes to Blizzard’s “opps”.  I am the person that sits back and says “Hey guys, chill out, they are working on it”.  I understand when the server has to come down for some reason (I may not be happy about it, but I understand).  I get that there are a lot of moving parts and a lot of things that are going on, and sometimes little things can fall through the cracks.  I get it, I really do.

However, what happened last night was just completely inexcusable on Blizzard’s part.  We had cleared up to Anub’arak in our 25 man raid on Tuesday after the servers came up (9:30 pm).  We even got a couple of pulls on Anub before we had to call it a night.  I started our raid up last night and zoned in…and the floor was back.  Shit.  Not only was the floor back, but there was no NPC to speak with to remove the floor again.

Now, there are a lot of things I can abide by and be understanding about.  This, however, is not one of them.  Honestly how did a bug THIS FRIGGIN HUGE ever make it out of their beta testing?  How was one of the things that they needed to check off on their list of “does this work” NOT “can people access Anub after a soft/hard reset”.  Something like this is just flat out careless.  It’s a massive bug, it is something that should have been tested and caught before the patch went live.  There is no excuse for work this sloppy.  And that is exactly what it is; careless, sloppy work.

Now Brade works for a gaming company, and as we complained about it last night he said “well, it is certainly something that I would have checked”.  You would think that it is something ANYONE would have checked!  I know the content is easy and all, but ffs there will always be someone that will have to leave the instance after killing the Valkyrs and before killing Anub.  MAKING SURE THEY COULD STILL ACCESS THE CONTENT WOULD HAVE BEEN A PRETTY IMPORTANT AND BASIC THING TO TEST!  I mean, c’mon, it’s almost as basic and akin to testing “does the game work after you shut it off and turn it back on”.

I sure hope that whoever is in charge of their QA department has been severely reprimanded for letting a bug this big get out.  Honestly…what was Blizzard’s QA department doing?  Clearly it wasn’t testing what happens with a soft reset of Anub, clearly it also wasn’t making sure that your “attempts” on hard modes were logged correctly.  Yes…the floor isn’t the only pretty serious and glaring bug.  There are numerous reports from those working on hard modes that they are loosing multiple attempts from their counter for what should be just one wipe.  Apparently, if you die while there are multiple mobs up, say for example the jormunger worms, you loose two tries instead of just the one for the event.  Seems to me that this would have been another PRETTY IMPORTANT THING TO TEST before sending the content live.

As I seethe about this I can’t help but wonder how much of this is at Blizzard’s hands, or Activision’s.  How much was Activision pushing Blizzard to get the content out?  To “keep on schedule”?  Peronally, I would have much rather waited a few weeks for the release so that the Blizzard QA team could have done a thorough job of making sure that all of the mechanics of the new content were acutally, you know, working.  I really hope that Blizzard remembers that it is the quality  of their games that draw people to them.

If this is the kind of QA and errors that we can expect going forward I will be highly disappointed.  I don’t want to play a game only to be frustrated because the QA guys were either 1) rushed to get something out before it was ready, and thus has glaring errors on live; or 2) so careless in their testing that they let really big errors that should have been noticed get by them.

Dear Blizzard, get it together.  Love, Beru

/rant off

Posted September 3, 2009 by Beruthiel in /rant

3 responses to “Quality Assurance

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my God, that’s *appalling*. I know as a playerbase we’re inclined to rant and grumble about basically anything but that is genuinely rubbish. I’m actually kind of shocked.

  2. Yea, I don’t really rant at Blizzard too much. I mean, I know things are going to happen. But this was pretty bad.

    We were able to go in and do the content last night, but we had to put a ticket into the GM to have him put the NPC back into the instance. One of our players was able to do this during the day, so we could raid at night.

    One of the other guilds on our server with the same problem wasn’t so lucky. Their GM ticket was still pending at midnight, when I had asked them if they were able to get in.

    I think they’ve implemented a fix for it on a go forward basis…but that doesn’t help those of us that were kinda screwed this week.

  3. We also had the beasts de spawn on us a couple of times, wiping out tries. So far this week, raiding has left a lot to be desired. Massive lag almost to the point of being unplayable, despawning encounters, in fact its been pretty bad since they released the instance in its normal form. We had to kill the faction champions multiple times in one reset twice, not because we wiped but because it seemed there was a bug where if certain NPCs died last you didnt get any loot but just had to wait for a soft reset and repeat.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

