When Reaching a Goal Falls Flat   5 comments

A while back I had been reading about druids who where hitting 10k HPS in Ulduar. I remember thinking to myself “how the f…”. So, I did a bit of reading on how we were seeing these astronomical numbers, and I said to myself “I can do that”. I set out on my mission, determined to reach this benchmark and everytime we tried an encounter where these numbers were popping up, I did my damndest to try and reach them.

Every week I creapt a little bit cloaser to that 10k mark, and then I finally hit it. One night a few weeks ago during Steelbreaker attempts in Ulduar, I reveiwed my progress and lo and behold there it was: 10k HPS. Of course, that wasn’t good enough for me, I wanted to do it on a kill. So I kept trying at it, and sure enough the parse from our recent kill netted me this:

Yes, I not only achieved my goal, I blew it out of the water, hitting a whopping 14.7k HPS (and still hitting 10k + in EHPS). I felt extremely proud of myself, happy to have reached a personal benchmark. But the more I thought about it, the more “meh” I kind of feel about it. Where I probably should feel accomplished, I really just feel…not?

How’d I do it? Well, to be perfectly honest with you, it’s a bit cheesy. I also can’t say that there was a whole lot of “skill” involved. Do you know how you heal hard mode Iron Council? Rejuv x5, WG. Rinse and repeat for 6 minutes. Watch GRID to make sure you don’t rejuv over a ticking rejuv, and wildgrowth every time it’s off cooldown. The fight itself is really built to showcase a HoT healer’s strengths. It has a lot of inherent static damage that is not only present for the full 6 minutes of the encounter, but grows stronger as the fight progresses. Almost 100% of my heals counted for something by the end of the fight.

Sure, perhaps not everyone can do that. But honestly, where is the challenge in such a set way of healing? Don’t get me wrong, there were certainly nail biting moments when you had to get the just ressed tank topped off and buffed. Or everytime a fusion punch is about to land. Or when you are at the end of the fight and the enitre raid is taking ~5k damage every few seconds, and your soakers all but need a dedicated healer (beacon of light is OP for this). But still…there wasn’t a whole lot of thought that went into meeting my goal. I litterally went “one, two, three, four, five, WG” in my head . Sometimes it changed and I went “one, two, innervate, swiftmend, four, five, WG”. But really, couldn’t a monkey properly trained have done the job?

I’ve often talked about becoming a rejuv bot, and honestly, that is all this was. Beru being a rejuv bot. Sure, I put up some big numbers, but what was so special about what I did? It wasn’t really anything impressive, was it?

The more I think about it, the less impressed I am with it. I made no “decisions”, no snap judgments that lead to success. I hit some really high numbers by doing a repetitive action on an encounter that favors that action. I reached my goal, I guess, but I have to wonder if it was ever a goal I should have had to begin with. Instead of feeling /flex, I feel more cheated by my accomplishment.

Am I the only one that feels this way? Have you ever reached a goal and then been like…that’s it?

Posted September 17, 2009 by Beruthiel in Goals

5 responses to “When Reaching a Goal Falls Flat

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. O…M…G…

    It’s the lifebloom count from TBC, remixed for Rejuv/WG. I thought we escaped this! AHHHHH!! /flees

  2. lol @ Kae. Just what I was thinking. spambots ftw. /sob

  3. My only consolation is that there aren’t that many fights that require this particular type of healing. And, from what I’ve seen in ToC, we get a lot more variety in what we are supposed to be doing.

    It’s nice not to have to feel like a robot!!!

  4. heeheehee…. I love a good rejuv spam contest on Iron Council :) Me and my fellow tree always try to outdo each other and often beg our boomkin for his innervates so we can be extra spammy.

    So, um, my comment isn’t a very good message to healers out there because metres shouldn’t be everything and wasting precious mana & innervates to look good is also very naughty, but what the hell everyone should get to have some fun once in a while i think!

  5. Yeah, even as a dpser, when raiding with my mage, I always took the most pride in all the things I did aside from dps. The too-rare cases of cc (sheeping MCed players on KT, yes I didn’t get very far before I stopped playing), getting out of the fire, and taking as little damage as possible for the healers to worry about while keeping my dps up. Little things like using frostward and fireward, which few mages do.

    But to be honest, I felt like I had to do more of that back in vanilla WoW while running UBRS and other old-school instances. Running Strath deadside in 45 minutes – with a group in blues, not raid epics – was fun, because it involved coordinating targeting and focus fire, and making no unnecessary moves, but also handling anything that went wrong. It wasn’t about finding a combination of buttons that maximized my numerical output. Heck, back then I wasn’t even raid specced at the time, and I didn’t even have a dps rotation.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

