Chicken Soup for the Raider’s Soul   3 comments

Have you ever had one of “those” nights? You all know the ones I’m talking about. The ones where anything and everything seems to go wrong for no concrete reason, almost like someone stole your mojo and you must find it before you can be whole again. I know that I’ve had them. As a matter of fact, I had one this past Sunday while we were throwing ourselves at HM LK…again.

Things just weren’t gelling, for whatever reason. As a raid, we had completely and totally lost our Mojo.

Of course, at this point there is only one thing to be done: find it.

You can’t find it by hollering at people. You can’t find it by screaming (although I try). You can’t always find it by continuing to throw yourself at the thing that stole it from you. You can’t find it by looking under someone’s motorbike or skirt. So, how do you get your mojo back?

For me – I needed to kill something. After having my face smashed in for 3 hours, I had a bloodthirst like you wouldn’t believe, and it was only going to be sated by…going to Ulduar? Yes, you read that right, our raid lost our mojo and seemed to have found it in Ulduar. And why shouldn’t we?!

After a frustrating night with dear Arthas, we took ourselves to an instance that we had partially cleared and reactivated our raid lockout. The goal? Alone in the Darkness. Why? TENTACLES! Well…and because we hadn’t done it before. But mostly for the TENTACLES! And you know what? It was a lot of fun. It was silly, we did achievements, we unwound all of that pent up LK tension, and somewhere along the way we regained our Mojo.

I had joked as we headed to Mimiron that if a year ago you had told me that Ulduar would be the chicken soup for my poor raiding soul, I would have told you to put the crack pipe down. However, the truth of the matter was that coming back to something old made it fresh and restored me. And it was exactly what I needed at that time.

I am sure that everyone has different releases. So I’m curious, when it’s clear that it’s just not your night, what do you do? How do you get your raiding mojo back?

Posted September 8, 2010 by Beruthiel in Just for Fun!, Raid Leadership

3 responses to “Chicken Soup for the Raider’s Soul

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. After particularly frustrating nights, I used to PvP. Sure, I couldn’t smash my own annoying raiders in the face but I could pretend that little troll I’m chasing across Arathi Basin is the Mage who kept standing in the bad stuff.

    Sometimes it would backfire though, especially if I was pugging battlegrounds and I’d end up even more furious.

  2. If you don’t mind I’d be really interested in how you went about getting alone in the darkness. We had kind of… the reverse situation you experienced last night, when we went to try 1 light (to finish off Ulduar drakes) and nothing was going right.

    We had a handful of people who had never done Yogg, so I chose to leave Freya up, perhaps stupidly . I assumed our Heroic 10 man gear would be enough to burn yogg/keep the adds low and newer people would find it easier without worrying about sanity.

    Instead it took us a long time to even make it to phase 3 (3 brian room phases minimum) and when we got there we very quickly got overrun. :( Kinda demoralising.

  3. Ulduar is, by far, the best raid instance in this expansion – and probably my all time favourite. That said, it was also my favourite instance while we were working in it, so I guess I am somehow biased in that sense. There’s something about the architecture, the lore, the trash/boss ratio, and even the boss fights and the Heroic triggers that really singles Ulduar out in my head. So it’s no surprise that we often do just what you did: whenever we have an off night, or need to vent, or don’t have enough players to do Heroic LK, we just go to Ulduar to get drakes for someone, or tentacles.

    Back to your original question, I find dealing with “lost mojo” the biggest challenge for a raid leader. You need to know when to keep pushing, because it will eventually click, and when instead pushing just means that things are going to become more and more frustrating. By instinct, I tend to want to push – and yet multiple times during our ToC grind my raid proved to me that we work better if we do something else for the night, and come back with a clear head (usually one-shotting our problem fight, then). I have no solution, and I don’t think there is a fixed one. I think it really is just a soft skill.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

