Ed Wood – Take Two (Nefarian Video)   8 comments

If you’ve been reading over the past week or so, you know that I’ve been playing around with FRAPS and video capture.  Actually, it’s been more than that really.  Over the past week I think it’s safe to say that I’ve become mildly obsessed with it.  Truth be told, I’m pretty much having a blast – running around recording things, playing around with the features in the video editor, picking out music that is YouTube friendly.  It’s fun learning how to do something new, and with each clip I take and edit, I learn new tricks.

Anyhow, I’m going to be taking video of a lot of our encounters moving forward.  I’m having a ridiculous amount of fun with it (who knew?!) and we thought it would be cool to post the videos for everyone to see through a link on the front page of the guild website, both for our members and for potential recruits.

Of course, since I’m the one FRAPSing the videos, they will all be from a Resto Druid perspective.  Which sort of brings me to the point of this post – are these videos something that you’d be interesting in having posted here regularly as I create them?  I think they might be useful and/or interesting for people, while we aren’t on the bleeding edge of progression, we are fairly well progressed so most of the videos should be somewhat timely with many people’s progression - but I don’t want to flood everyone’s feeds with Resto Druid videos if you guys aren’t particularly interested in seeing them.

Which brings me to my next set of questions!

  • Are videos something you would be interested in seeing here regularly?
  • Would you be interested in “commentated” videos, where I walk through healing the encounter?
  • Would you be interested in videos outside of raids, such as “setting up Power Auras”, etc?
  • If you are interested in videos, what other kinds of things would you be interested in seeing?

I’d love to know your thoughts on this and hear your feedback!  While we discuss, I hope you enjoy the Normal Mode Nefarian 25 Video that I took on Sunday Night – note that it is best viewed in either the 720 or 1080 settings on YouTube.  (I will probably be doing some capture of heroics this week – I needed a “test” run of how my capture set up would work in a high graphics raid setting before I tried it on heroics!).

Posted April 6, 2011 by Beruthiel in Druid Healing, FRAPS, Healing, Raiding, Video

8 responses to “Ed Wood – Take Two (Nefarian Video)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would find videos from a Resto Druid’s perspective very helpful and interesting. Add in tips on the best time to use tranq/tree or cds from other healing classes to best manage the various massive dmg raid mechanics and I would call it a big win!

  2. I think the videos would be helpful too, with some commentary as needed, however, just writing the commentary is good for me too. I can’t find any 10 man strategies specific to druids on this fight, which is one that I am struggling with as a healer.

    great music too btw

    • I don’t know that I’d be able to help too much with the 10 man strategies, I did do them all 10 man on their normal versions, but all of my heroic experience is in 25s.

      If you have any questions though, feel free to nudge me and I’d be happy to see if I can help! Alternatively, I know that Kae over at Dreambound Druid has both normal and heroic experience with the encounters, so she may be a good resource for 10s as well :)

  3. Generally speaking, I find commentary videos more helpful, and I’m more likely to watch them. I like music videos well enough, and they’re a blast to make! But my narrated videos get many more views, and seem to help people much more.

    • Thanks for the input, Cyn!

      I think what I may do is post commentary videos here, and add music tracks to those I do for the guild/website. In all honesty, once you’ve picked the music it only takes a minute to toss it all in, so it’s not like it’s that much extra work! :)

  4. Videos would be great. Commentary, even very skinny commentary (tree form, tranq, barkskin, watch out for . . .) would be great.
    Even greater – if you had time to answer questions on the vids. e.g. You blew a tranq up on the platform, do you think it’s worth it in 10s? Or save it for . . . .

    • Thanks for the input, Deppi!

      I’m going to try my hand at a narrated Chim video this weekend and see how it turns out – just need to take some time to figure out the voice recording program :)

      And to answer your question – I actually try to save tranq for phase 3, during our bloodlust, becuase the crackles some so close to each other in that phase. I generally find that popping ToL as soon as I’m on the platform is sufficient enough to stablize the platform, and get us through the first crackle. This is why you see me hit ToL as soon as I’m up on the platform.

      However, in this particular pull we brough Nef a little lower than we’d have liked in phase 1, which meant when he went into the air he was only a few seconds (or DoT ticks) from a crackle, and I was worried about having the group topped up quickly enough for the early crackle, so I tranq’d to make sure that we didn’t lose anyone when the crackle came (just a few seconds later!) to not being topped off. You will see that we our other druids did the same for their platforms, as a safety measure as well.

      Was it worth the cast in the air phase? Absolutely! Honestly, the airphase is the part of the encounter where their is the most damage, and is the biggest strain on the healers. Anything you can do to help is always good there :) (As a side note, you will also see that with my haste I think my tranq is about 6-7 seconds of casting time, not 10).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

