Thursday Thoughts: News at 11 Edition   2 comments

It’s been awhile since I’ve done one of these types of updates. I could probably tell you I didn’t have much to say – but since I often did updates that were almost completely devoid of WoW information, I’m not sure that’s entirely true. I think it would probably be more accurate to say that I’ve been busy…and lazy. I mean I could have easily offered an update on any number of things, but when I had my down time I simply found I wanted to do something other than write! As harsh is that might sound…honesty is best! (Right? RIGHT?!).

/sigh

Whatever! I have both time and desire to write at this moment, as well as things to say! So I suppose that we should get to that before I lose any of the above.

On Raiding

Wait, what?! (It’s okay, I know that you are probably thinking it, I can hear the wheels turning from here!). Remember that post about the 5.3 PTR I did the other day? The one where I said I had reason to believe that I’d probably have a little more to say about druids as we moved forward? No? Okay, perhaps we should start from the beginning here.

A while back, for varying personal reasons, Brade and I started discussing the possibility of me getting back into raiding again. The truth is that I missed it quite a bit and I needed an activity to really sink my teeth into and focus my mind on again. After few weeks of talking and weighing the pros/cons, those discussions turned into exploring the possibility of acting on what we were talking about. I made a list of things that were “musts” for me: PST schedule, adult environment, limited raid nights/in-game commitment and a focus on progression. If I was going to do this, it had to be something I was comfortable committing to 110% and something that provided me enjoyment.

One thing led to another, and about a month ago I enthusiastically accepted a trial with Skunkworks. I wasn’t particularly open about getting back into raiding – largely because I was a nervous wreck (I haven’t been a trial anywhere in eight years! What if things didn’t work out?!) – but I wasn’t exactly hiding it either if you looked in the right places. Anyhow, earlier this week I learned that I’d passed my trial (and there was much squeeing at my house), and since I anticipate being a little more vocal about druids again, I thought it was time to finish letting that cat out of the bag.

So there you have it. Yes, I am raiding again.

And I’m thoroughly enjoying it! The content is great, the environment is great and the people are great. It’s been a very long time since I’ve been able to say that I’ve been excited to log in on a raid night; and yet every Tuesday and Thursday I watch the clock at work as it slowly ticks to 4:00 and I rush out the door excited to get home and see what adventures await me that night. I was quite pleasantly surprised at how much this decision, and change, has reinvigorated the game for me. It was honestly one of the best decisions I’ve made and not once have I regretted it. (As an aside, Skunkworks is recruiting a few select classes, including a healer or two! Click the link above to learn more about progression raiding on a limited (2 night/week) schedule – particularly if you are a stellar player struggling to find time to raid and read my ‘must’ list and thought ‘man, I’d be interested in a guild like that too!’).

For those of you wondering…no, Brade is not raiding. When we talked about me wanted to get back into it, he indicated that at this time he didn’t really have the desire to commit to it again (even on a limited schedule). Now, from time to time, I do see him watching over my shoulder while I’m raiding – so who knows if that will change in the future – but right now, he’s content to play casually. Several people have asked me if it’s weird playing without him, but it’s really not. While I do miss playing with him occasionally, it’s also kind of nice to have my own “thing” – and, uh, we fight less :P. We still putz around on alts or do things CRZ quite a bit, so it’s not as if I don’t still get to enjoy this hobby with him, it’s just that I have a segment right now that is just mine and I’m kind of enjoying that.

ANYHOW! I’m sure I’ll have some additional thoughts about this tier of content (read: I absolutely have some thoughts) that I’ll want to share. So be sure to look for those soon-ish. Additionally, please do not hesitate to let me know if you have questions on anything specific that I might be able to answer. I’m uncertain if I’ll get back to the videos, since they were a huge time commitment and I don’t know if I’ll have that kind of time again. However, if you need help just shoot me an email! It might take me a few days (or a week…) to answer, but I will do my best to get a response out to you!

(Oh, and if you are trying to find me I had to change my name. I am now Berutheil – looks almost the same, unti you realize that the “i” and “e” are juxtaposed. I will try to remember to update my “about” link!).

On Blizzcon

So, I wasn’t going to go again. In fact, I was so convinced that I wasn’t going to go that we have already booked (and paid for!) a trip to Vegas over my birthday in August (yes…you do not have to tell me how hot it is going to be, I already know!). But then people were talking about it, and then I wanted, and well, AUGH!

Before I knew it, Brade and I were sitting at the computer refreshing F5 like champs and have once again managed to score tickets. I am pretty sure that he will never again believe me when I say “I think this will be my last Blizzcon”. But whatever! I’m really looking forward to it, and I anticipate it will be a blast.

On Community

One of the things about online communities is how amazing they can be. It is even more fun when that online community starts to bridge the gap from online to real life. I recently got to opportunity to enjoy a very fun fondue dinner with Lissanna, Tikari, Tinderhoof and his lovely wife. It was a great experience and I enjoyed it very much! Additionally, Tikari, Tinderhoof and I have started becoming table top pals over the months since we all met as well, which is amazing!

Anyhow, I bring this all up because I think these communities are amazing opportunities and I would encourage everyone to become involved! I’ve made more local friends from these online communities than I have from any other social event in Seattle.

On that same note, I had the pleasure to talk Druids with the fine gentleman over at The Training Dummies a couple of weeks ago, and you can find that here if you’d like to give it a listen! It was a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed the experience!

On Other Entertainment

I’m currently reading the newest JD Robb “in Death” book. I have a “to read” list that just keeps growing right now! But I did want to say that on the recommendation of several folks I read a book called “Ready Player One” that was amazing – and if you’ve not read it yet, I would encourage you to check it out!

We are still slowly working our way through Buffy and Angel. I’m really enjoying them, even if we have spurts where we watch a ton and then watch almost none of them. Keeping up with TV has gotten a little more challenging now that I’m a little more occupied in WoW again, but that doesn’t bother me in the least! We keep up when we can, and when we can’t…well that is what Amazon Video and Netflix are for :)

I’ve also been slowly working my way through Luigi’s Mansion on the 3DS. I really enjoy the game and the story – but man the controls really bother my hands after awhile. Especially if you have to do a lot of ghost sucking in any given storyline/room. I loved the original Luigi’s Mansion to death and played it through numerous times – so I’m hopeful this one will find its way into my “favorites” library as well!

We’ve had several game nights over the past few months – but I’ve not really gotten the chance to explore some of the games/expansions that Brade and I acquired during the holidays (or because we saw it in the game store and went “gimme!”). I think this weekend we might take some time and sit down to figure out Netrunner. And then if we still have time maybe get in a game of Arkham Horror – but I think that might be pushing it since we have plans for Iron Man 3 this weekend!

I’ve also made the mistake of clicking on this link the other day, and now have a massive list of board games I want to download on my iPad (and will probably do a few of them this weekend!). WARNING! THAT LINK IS DANGEROUS TO YOUR POCKET BOOK! Ok, now that I’ve warned you, I will feel no sympathy when you click on it and all of the sudden spend $100 on apps. Nope, none at all!

Overall, it’s been a pretty good month

Aside from the doctors (there are many of them now!) still trying to figure out what is going on with my body (which it has been decided is what is causing the hand troubles), I can’t really complain about how things have been going the past month or so. I’m happy, in great spirits and generally just enjoying things.

It’s been awhile! So tell me, how are things with you?

2 responses to “Thursday Thoughts: News at 11 Edition

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m so happy to hear you are raiding again and with renewed vigor :) I also understand the ‘wanting to do things other then write’. So yay!!

  2. Good to hear you’ve found a suitable guild :) I’m looking for similar things, and a 2 night raid week sounds awesome, but unfortunately guild choices are quite limited for my timezone (specially if you want 25 man) so it’s proving very difficult to find.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers

