Granny Smith’s Shattrath Surprise   9 comments

In case you haven’t heard yet, Angelya is hosting a Harvest Festival Bake Off. She has asked her readers to create a submission of their favorite fall recipes using ingredients found around Azeroth, and give a small explanation as to why they have chose their recipe to share with the community.

This is my submission. I have called it “Granny Smith’s Shattrath Surprise” but it is better known around my household as my mother’s apple crisp. In our family she is practically famous for it. Anytime we go to a family gathering and we are asked to bring something, everyone requests mom’s apple crisp. I have picked up this tradition by also introducing it to those I know out here on the West Coast, and anytime Brade and I go to a gathering where we will be enjoying each others company and good food, I bring along mom’s apple crisp. Truth be told, I have no idea where she picked up the recipe, but it is one of my favorite things by far. And so, I’d like to share with all of you the joy that is Mom’s apple crisp.

Enjoy!

Granny Smith’s Shattrath Surprise

Ingredient List:

8 – 12 Goldenbark Apples (You will want a tart apple for this, I prefer Johnathan, but Granny Smith Apples work very well also).

2/3 cup fine sand (granulated white sugar)

1-2 cups simple flour

1/2 – 1 cup Lard’s Lunch (butter)

2 teaspoons Mild Spices (Cinnamon)

1/2 – 1 cup granulated sweet root (Dark Brown Sugar)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • This recipe can be made in two sizes: Large (9 x 13 pan) or Small (9 x 9) pan.  I will provide directions for both sizes, along with a few chef’s notes, which will be annotated by a “*”.
  • Peel, core and slice apples.  You will need 12 apples for a large batch, and 8 apples for a small batch.  *Please note these are for small Jonathan apples.  If you are using today’s larger apples, you will not need as many.  I tend to use 5 large Granny Smith’s for a small batch. An apple corer/peeler/slicer works wonderfully for this!
  • Using a large bowl, combine apples with 2/3 cup fine sand, 4 tablespoons simple flour and 2 teaspoons of mild spices.  *I tend to add a touch extra cinnamon and a touch of extra sugar to mine.
  • Mix well until all of the apples are coated and place into baking pan.
  • Cut two tablespoons Lard’s Lunch, and place on top of apple mixture. *I tend to cut the butter in such a fashion that I can place a piece in each quarter and in the center of the pan.
  • In a separate bowl, mix topping using your hands or a pastry mixer.  The topping will be crumbly.
    • For a small pan combine 1 cup simple flour, 1/2 cup Lard’s Lunch and 1/2 cup granulated sweet root.
    • For a large pan combine 2 cups simple flour, 1 cup Lard’s Lunch and 1 cup granulated sweet root.
    • * I really enjoy the toping, so I tend to make a small batch – but like my mother – utilize the large pan’s topping mix for a little extra nom.
      • *You do not want your butter rock hard out of the fridge, but not fully softened either.  I partially soften the butter for the topping before mixing it.
  • Sprinkle topping over Apple mixture.
  • Bake 45 minutes, or until top is browned and apples are tender.
    • *I have found that a large batch may take closer to an hour to cook – but keep an eye on it so you do not burn the topping!
  • Remove from oven and serve!

The crisp is best served warm – and will reheat very well!  It is very tasty with a scoop of  Tigole and Furor’s Vanilla or Cinnamon Ice Cream!  

I hope that you enjoy!  Please let me know if you have any questions with regards to the recipe itself.

Warning – I will not be responsible for any injuries that are a result of a mad dash for seconds!

Posted September 6, 2010 by Beruthiel in Community, Just for Fun!

9 responses to “Granny Smith’s Shattrath Surprise

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That sounds delicious.

  2. Nice. I will take a batch. 🙂

  3. It is damned tasty! …and a tease as well. I know the odds of there being apple crisp already made when I get home from work are zero.

    The really cruel part is she called to tell me to read this post this morning!

  4. Looks deeee-lish! 🙂

  5. @ everyone – It really is very tasty! And so simple. I strongly encourage you to try it! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Get Your Chef’s Hat Out For Harvest Festival | MMO Melting Pot

  7. Grats on the ‘Lard’s Lunch’. I couldn’t think what to use for butter or lard in my entry.

  8. Well done! I LOVE apple desserts and especially apple crisps. The use of in-game icons was a nice visual 🙂

    And thank you for the chef’s notes! They’re nice to have when you’re making something yourself. (And I am definitely going to try this one!)

Leave a comment