Dannie’s Holy Paladin Power Auras   7 comments

I’ve had a few people ask me about the power auras that I use for characters other than my druid.  I’ve been slowly working through the posts (read: I’m lazy), but I figured since I got Kitai’s up I’d be remiss not to get Dannie’s out as well.  Dannie is my second most played toon, and I feel that I am comfortable enough with her that I’d be able to swap between her and Beru if needed.  I’ve been slowly working through the T11 content with her in a one day a week (3 hours!) alt run that we’ve been doing for fun.  I think she’s currently sitting at 10/12.  The only encounter I’ve yet to do any healing with her on is Nefarian.

Before we get into the pictures and exports, I want to comment on my style. When I was learning Power Auras, the person that helped me learn the mod had told me that he tends to use icon settings so that he remembers what each setting is for, indicating that when he just used auras and squiggles and what not, he tended to forget what each “aura” indicated.  As I went on my Powa journey, I found that this was true for me as well, so all of my settings will mirror icons.

Now, there is no “right” way to do this, so if you prefer “auras” and that works better for you, you should set those up!  Everyone will find that something works different for them, and should experiment until they find something they feel comfortable with.

On to the Auras!

Dannie’s Holy Paladin Auras

I’m going to present these auras in a slightly different fashion than I usually do – largely because the extra functionality added to the new Power Auras makes it unfavorable for taking pictures.  In each of the shots below, I will outline the new auras that you see in each picture.  There is one exception to this – Holy Power.  My holy power aura is actually three different auras, but I will list the 3 auras all together after the first picture.  You will see what the aura looks like at each stage of holy power generation in the later pictures.

 

Holy Power – This is the circle to the left of my character.  What you see here is full Holy Power, which is a full circle.  The circle starts as a small, empty circle at 1 holy power, and will fill and grow as you generate holy power.  You will see this aura in different stages in the later screenshots, but I am going to give you all of the auras in one place.  Please note that this aura is actually three separate auras, you will have to import each aura as its own, separate aura.

One Holy Power

Version:4.12; b:0.1922; g:0.9529; thresholdinvert:true; icon:spell_holy_lightsgrace; x:-52; bufftype:10; texture:73; PowerType:9; threshold:1; size:0.11; y:50; texmode:2

Two Holy Power

Version:4.12; b:0.1922; g:0.9529; thresholdinvert:true; icon:spell_holy_lightsgrace; x:-52; bufftype:10; texture:73; PowerType:9; threshold:2; size:0.15; y:50; texmode:2

Three Holy Power

Version:4.12; b:0.1922; g:0.9529; thresholdinvert:true; icon:spell_holy_lightsgrace; x:-52; bufftype:10; texture:72; sound:12; PowerType:9; threshold:3; size:0.15; y:50; texmode:2

Seal of Insight – This aura will let you know when your seal of insight has expired or is missing.

Version:4.12; anim1:4; icon:Spell_Holy_HealingAura; buffname:Seal of Insight; x:-182; alpha:1; owntex:true; sound:50; spec2:false; size:0.11; y:-22; texmode:2; inverse:true; finish:0

Jar of Ancient Remedies Available – This aura will let you know that your Jar of Ancient Remedies is off of cooldown and ready for use.

Version:4.12; icon:inv_misc_cat_trinket06; buffname:Jar of Ancient Remedies; x:-153; bufftype:7; alpha:1; owntex:true; sound:32; size:0.11; y:-21; texmode:2

Beacon of Light Active – This aura will let you know that your Beacon of Light is active, and tell you how much time is left on the aura.

Version:4.12; icon:Ability_Paladin_BeaconofLight; buffname:Beacon of Light; x:-69; alpha:1; owntex:true; mine:true; groupOrSelf:true; size:0.11; y:-39; texmode:2; finish:0; timer.h:0.65; timer.enabled:true; timer.cents:false; timer.y:-47; timer.x:-63

Judgements of the Pure – This aura will let you know that Judgements of the Pure is active, and the time remaining on the buff.

Version:4.12; icon:Ability_Paladin_JudgementofthePure; buffname:Judgements of the Pure; x:-40; alpha:1; owntex:true; spec2:false; size:0.11; y:-39; texmode:2; finish:0; timer.h:0.65; timer.enabled:true; timer.cents:false; timer.y:-46; timer.x:-34

Divine Plea Available – This aura will let you know that Divine Plea is off cooldown and available for use.

Version:4.12; icon:Spell_Holy_Aspiration; buffname:Divine Plea; x:-11; bufftype:15; alpha:1; owntex:true; spec2:false; size:0.11; y:-39; texmode:2; finish:0

Holy Shock Available – This aura will let you know when Holy Shock is off of cooldown and available for use.

Version:4.12; icon:Spell_Holy_SearingLight; buffname:Holy Shock; x:17; bufftype:15; alpha:1; owntex:true; sound:23; size:0.11; y:-39; texmode:2; finish:0

Holy Radiance Available – This aura will let you know when Holy Radiance is off of cooldown and available for use.

Version:4.12; icon:spell_paladin_divinecircle; buffname:Holy Radiance; x:73; bufftype:15; alpha:1; owntex:true; spec2:false; size:0.11; y:-39; texmode:2

In this picture, you can see the aura that indicates two charges of Holy Power.

Infusion of Light Proc – This aura will let you know when you’ve had an Infusion of Light proc, and how long you have to use the proc.

Version:4.12; icon:Ability_Paladin_InfusionofLight; buffname:Infusion of Light; x:44; alpha:1; owntex:true; size:0.11; y:-39; texmode:2; timer.h:0.64; timer.enabled:true; timer.cents:false; timer.y:-46; timer.x:50

 

Daybreak Proc – This aura will alert you to a Daybreak proc, and let you know how long you have to use it.

Version:4.12; icon:INV_QirajIdol_Sun; buffname:Daybreak; x:101; alpha:0.83; owntex:true; size:0.11; y:-39; texmode:2; timer.h:0.65; timer.enabled:true; timer.cents:false; timer.y:-45; timer.x:107

In this picture, you can see what the one charge Holy Power Aura looks like.

Judgement Available – This aura will let you know when Judgement is off of cooldown and available for use.

Version:4.12; b:0.9294; anim1:11; g:0.0902; icon:Spell_Holy_RighteousFury; buffname:Judgement; bufftype:15; texture:28; combat:true; size:0.56; y:58; texmode:2

Low Mana – This aura will activate once you’ve hit 76% mana, for your first plea.  It will dissipate after 5 seconds.

Version:4.12; g:0.4902; icon:inv_alchemy_elixir_02; r:0; bufftype:9; texture:60; duration:5; threshold:76; y:66

Auras in Action!

In case you haven’t been following the blog in the past week or so, I’ve recently started putzing around with video capture in WoW again.  In fact, I’ve actually been having a lot of fun with it!  What that means for this post, however, is that I was able to do a short capture of my power auras in action!  Note that I made a point of making use of everything so that you can see how the auras work – so you should see 100% of the auras in the video below.  (This video will be viewed best at 720 or 1080).

I hope that you find this helpful!  Remember that not all auras will work for everyone.  I can’t encourage you enough to play around with power auras until you find something that fits your play style and your needs.  Please don’t hesitate to let me know if you have any comments or questions.

Posted April 4, 2011 by Beruthiel in Paladin Healing, Power Auras

7 responses to “Dannie’s Holy Paladin Power Auras

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you have an aura for your arcane torrent ability?

    • What you see is what you get!

      Or, no, I don’t have an aura for arcane torrent. However, I tend to torrent on cooldown with Divine Plea. And since both are on a two minute cooldown, it’s pretty easy to hit both. Alternatively, I bound my jar to arcane torrent – which is also on a 2 minute cooldown – so when my jar is ready, so is arcane torrent.

      • Ok, that makes more sense now with where you have your mana alert set at. I have mine set at 80%, but I use AT plus my trinkets, which usually gives me almost 15% mana back, then when I get to my mana warning again, I use DP. I found that if I did AT and DP together, I wasn’t getting the max benefit from each.

      • Actually, the reason that I have the mana reminder set at 76% is that I have Divine Plea glyphed. So that means that it will return 18% mana from the base talent and another 6% from the glyph (24%).

        I don’t find that using arcane torrent and my trinket with Divine Plea to be “bad” or a waste of mana, because I’m constantly casting, even while Plea is active – so I’m burning through more mana while I’m pleaing. And at any point past the first plea, you are going to be down more than the 24% mana that plea will return to you anyhow.

        However, there are times that I will torrent/trinket staggered with Plea. I just find it’s easier for me to remember to do it all at once and not think about it again for another 2 minutes 🙂

  2. Nice post about Dannie’s Holy Paladin Power Auras , if you want to find out more about holy paladin in cataclysm then you may find this blog about holy paladin healing guide useful.

  3. Love these auras you are using. I use these on my paladin for healing, Great job on this blog, beruthiel. And thanks.

  4. You should update this for MoP. The Seal of Insight aura doesn’t seem to be working; it doesn’t recognize it as being activated.

Leave a comment